Thursday, January 24, 2008

First post.

I love Vista. I'm tired of people whining about it, that's why I started this blog. I hope to convince you to, AT LEAST, lay off whinging about Vista every goddamn time I bring it up in a discussion.

This blog is written from a gamers perspective.

I'll start with the top 5 reasons Vista doesn't suck:

1) It IS cheaper than XP. For a comparable version, it costs 10-15 dollars less from the same vendor, and some don't sell XP at all.

2) QuickSearch is nice. The ability to remember the name of a file and type it in, getting a link to it in a few seconds, makes me happy in the pants.

3) In comparable themes, it uses a comparable amount of RAM. If you were to run Vista and XP, both in Windows Classic theme, you would see a difference of maybe 50-100 mb of RAM. I basically never max out my RAM usage, and I use only 2GB, not 4, so I see no significant difference in memory usage

4) DirectX 10 will be used. Like it or not, studios are starting to make games using it, and the trend will ONLY increase.

5) Windows Sidebar can be nice. I personally don't use it because I don't have any need for it, but the widgets can be very useful.

Just so you know: Posts will be short. Expect no long posts taking half an hour to read. Posts will, however, hopefully be numerous.

No comments: